Print Email
 

Legacy Field Project

Legacy PNG
The Legacy Field Project

The Legacy Fields Project is a major initiative of Utah Youth Soccer Association. This initiative is designed to be a long-term solution to a consistent and growing issue – providing quality field space for youth soccer in the state of Utah.

 

Each year, youth sports throughout the state are losing access to fields as cities, school districts, and other field operators try and deal with ever increasing pressure for limited field space. This issue is not only affecting access to fields but in some cases is already increasing the cost to rent and secure fields. Although some areas of the state have enough fields, the vast majority of youth sports are dealing with this growing and challenging issue each year.

 

In order to address this issue within the soccer community, UYSA formed an exploratory committee in 2014 to look at this problem and identify a long-term solution. That committee met with key stakeholders in the soccer community as well as cities, school districts and others as it looked to identify potential solutions. It became clear that in order to solve this issue, the most likely path to increase access to quality fields was to partner with municipalities, school districts, private citizens, businesses and/or other entities to build dedicated soccer fields. A model was created by the committee in which UYSA provided funds for the installation and maintenance of fields in partnership with landowners that would provide the land to be used as dedicated soccer fields. The committee explored this model with municipalities, private land owners and school districts. After a positive response, the committee then presented this model as a potential solution to the majority of the soccer clubs throughout the state in regional meetings. After the regional meetings the original model was adjusted to meet the needs of the majority of the clubs. Although each club had unique needs and situations, the vast majority of the clubs supported the revised model and the implementation of this initiative.

 

The project was monitored and reviewed by the UYSA board in open board meetings. The board also initiated a state-wide parent survey about the current state of youth soccer. This information was collected and presented and the survey identified quality and available field space as the number one concern. After substantial review, study and discussion the UYSA board, again seeking and hearing public comments, approved the Legacy Fields Project, which implemented the $40 annual fee for competition players.

 

The fees collected under the Legacy Fields Project are restricted funds that can ONLY be used for field development in the region in which they are collected. This ensures that fees are spent in the region they are collected, for the benefit of the players in that region, for the long-term development of fields in that region.

 

These funds along with grants and other donations sought will be used to create new fields throughout the state benefiting soccer clubs, teams, and players. This fee is used to pay for the procuring, building, maintaining and long-term upkeep of the fields. Although the $40 is a significant fee, with your help the Legacy Fields will ensure the future of youth soccer in the State of Utah.


 

WE NEED YOUR HELP
 

Get Involved:

The Legacy Fields Project is currently forming legacy field committees at the regional level. These committees are responsible for identifying potential sites for fields and working with cities and school districts as well as other major land owners in the state to put together a partnership for dedicated field space. If you are interested, please contact your region chair or Bryan Attridge battridge@utahyouthsoccer.net

 

 

 

Region Committee Members
 
 
State Committee
State Committee Rep. Orden Yost oyost@comre.com 801-580-5224
State Committee Rep.
Jake Carter
jake2373@yahoo.com
801-361-1655
State Committee Rep.
Debbie Francis
aplensoccer@gmail.com
801-885-527
State Committee Rep.
Bill Gaskill
bgaskill@amsource.com
801-209-5001
 
Region 1
 
Region Chair Russ Austin romex131@comcast.net 801-243-9527
Committee Member
PJ Sutton
pjsutton@msn.com
435-225-4779
Committee Member
Dave Putnam
daveput@gmail.com
801-589-7663
Committee Member
Sheri Rick
sricks@yahoo.com
435-237-9076
 
Region 2
 
Region Chair Toby Yoshida mrpipoeater@yahoo.com  
Committee Member
Tim Wheelwright
tim.wheelwrigth1970@gmail.com
801-499-7717
Committee Member
Todd Strong
mrstrong2u@comcast.net
801-510-2465
Committee Member
Darrin Rumsey
darrinrumsey@gmail.com
801-726-0982
Committee Member
Zig Peacock
zig.peacode@outlawsfc.com
801-726-0982
Committee Member
Keith Toyn 
district4soccer@hotmail.com
801-170-0608
 
Region 3
 
Region Chair Justin Harryman jharryman@freeportwest.com 801-232-0992
Committee Member
Andy Stephenson
aasteph@me.com
801-891-1385
Committee Member
Pete Gillwald
peteg@landsolutionspc.bix
435-901-3716
Committee Member
Scott Butler
scott@utahavalanche.com
801-243-7686
Committee Member
Nate Shipp
nate@daiutah.com
801-259-6145
 
     
 
Region 4
 
Region Chair Roberto Maturana robertomaturana@hotmail.com 801-969-7847
Committee Member
Jonathan Hinckley
jhinckley@gmail.com
801-706-6041
Committee Member
Karli A Clayton
karli.clayton2314@gmail.com
801-638-7172
Committee Member
Javier Poveda
lifelegacyforever@gmail.com
801-369-5896
Committee Member
Andy Tzetcoff
andysheri@comcast.net
801-542-0773
Committee Member
Neil Calderwood
calderwoodneil@gmail.com
801-870-2066
       

 

Region 5
 
Region Chair Lisa Brockbank lisabrock21@outlook.com 801-318-8733
Committee Member
Jerry Pennock
jerry@complete.com
801-310-6789
Committee Member
Mike Parker
michael.parker@nebo.edu
385-201-4637
Committee Member
Javier Poveda
lifelegacyforever@gmail.com
801-369-5896
 
     

 

Region 6

Region Chair Kyle Pasley kylepasley@gmail.com 435-619-3164
Committee Member
Derek Morton
derek@mvte.com
435-704-1169
Committee Member
Wes Davis
wesgdavis@hotmail.com
435-627-5705
Committee Member
Travis Wilkinson
wilco@infowest.com
435-632-9641
Committee Member
Skyler Scott
skylerscott@cimafc.com
435-220-1982
Committee Member
Phil Schmidt
phil@schmidtconstruction.build
435-559-2522
Committee Member
David Hunter
davidh@fisherhunterlaw.com
435-652-8000
 
     
 
 
usyouthsoccer.org